## \*\*\*DRAFT\*\*\*

*Note:* These minutes are note yet formally approved and are subject to correction at the next South Central steering committee meeting on April 28, 2007.

CCSC:SC Dec. 1, 2006 Meeting

Minutes

Present: C. Stringfellow, N. Passos, J. Fernandez, C. Busch, M. Asoodeh, A. Kahlon, J. McGuffee, K. Hartness, L. Baker

## Meeting convened at 2:45PM

- Dr. Halverson, Chair of Computer Science, Midwestern State University welcomed the committee
- Professional papers were selected and initial groupings were made for program James McGuffee moved to approve the papers and groupings, John Fernandez seconded, motion passed.
- Two student papers were accepted Mike Asoodeh moved to approved, James McGuffee seconded, motion passed.
- Selected tutorials/workshops for the conference.
- Created conference program of papers and tutorials.
- A motion was made to not have the programming contest due to time constraints and logistics. Motion was approved unanimously.
- Papers chair L. Baker, Student papers chair P. Langley and Tutorials chair –
  S. Weber are reminded to inform accepted authors/presenters to register for the conference and submit copyright form.
- Conference chair C. Stringfellow reminded to invite speaker to submit something for his keynote address to put in the proceedings and to have him submit the copyright form.
- Tabled appointing new Treasurer until the April Conference.
- Publicity chair N. Passos reported difficulties/issues involved in using National CCSC Database. Of the 425 individuals in our region or interested in our mailings, only about 300 are valid address that do not bounce back. Calls were distributed to these individuals and to chairs of institutions near our region.
- Committee decided to make an effort to invite teachers (with full rate of \$125 and Saturday rate of \$45). C. Stringfellow will create another registration form for teachers and send it to them via the Publicity chair – Dr. Passos.
- Agreed to advertise at TCCTA annual February conference and through ACET with Tim McGuire.
- James McGuffee volunteered to contact people to serve as session chairs for the conference.
- Minutes of April 2006 approved with corrections.

- J. Fernandez gave a CCSC Budget Status report. Proposed 2007 budget was approved.
- Committee agreed to request 12 \$25 gift cards from CCSC national treasurer for student awards as this would provide flexibility.
- C. Busch and John Fernandez named as 2008 Conference Co-Chairs.
- M. Asoodeh named as 2009 Conference Chair.
- John Fernandez agreed to accept applications for 2010 Conference Host.
- J. McGuffee and Sharon Weber volunteered to conduct the Steering Committee election at the 2007 conference.
- J. McGuffee made a motion to honor up to one person per year at the annual conference to be decided at the Fall meeting. Honor will include a plaque recognizing the honoree's service and an invitation to attend the regional conference as a guest. Laura seconded the motion. All approved.
- M. Asoodeh nominated Barbara Owens for this honor, A. Kahlon seconded. All approved.
- A. Kahlon volunteered to order the plaque. L. Baker volunteered to introduce our honored guest at the opening session in April. A. Kahlon will be required to forward a copy of the invoice or bill to J. Fernandez and C. Stringfellow.
- In addition to announcing our honored guest at the April opening session, an announcement will be made about the elections to be held at the banquet and to encourage people to run for open positions.
- J. McGuffee moved to adjourn the fall meeting, C. Busch seconded. All approved.

Meeting adjourned at 7:10pm.