CCSC - South Central Region Steering Committee Meeting April 21, 2012 @ West Texas A&M University (conference site)

Meeting was called to order at 7:30am by Leslie Fife, 2013 Conference Chair.

The following election results from April 20, 2012 were formalized:

- Elected to a 2 year term (replacing unexpired term of Rakesh Verma) : Sunny Choi of Eastern New Mexico University
- Elected to 3 year terms: Tina Johnson of Midwestern State University Kay Kussman of McNeese State University James McGuffee of St. Edward's University

The following dates were confirmed for the upcoming year:

- Nov. 5, 2012 Professional Paper Submissions due
- Nov. 12, 2012 Student Paper Submissions due
- Nov. 21, 2012 Panel and Tutorial Submissions due
- Nov. 26, 2012 Professional Paper REVIEWS due
- Nov. 30, 2013 Fall Planning Meeting in Shreveport
- April 15, 2013 Student Poster Submissions due
- April 19-20, 2013 24th CCSC:SC Conference at LSU Shreveport

The following is a list of responsibilities for the 2012-2013 year:

- Papers and Program Chair Laura Baker
- Student Papers Chair Michael Scherger
- Student Posters Chair Shyam (Sam) Karrah
- Panels and Tutorials Chair James McGuffee
- Conference Chair Leslie Fife
- Registrar Anne Marie Eubanks
- Treasurer Michael Kart
- Publicity Vipin Menon and Tina Johnson
- Webmaster Sunny Choi

The following future conference sites and chairs were determined:

- 2013
 Site: LSU Shreveport, Louisiana
 Chair: Leslie Fife, LSU Shreveport
- 2014 Site: St. Edward's University, Austin, Texas Chair: Vipin Menon, McNeese State University
- 2015 Site: St. Edward's University, Austin, Texas Chair: TBD
- 2016
 Site: St. Edward's University, Austin, Texas Chair: TBD

In addition to dates and assignments, the following issues were discussed:

- A longer time for student posters to be viewed on Friday afternoon.
- More physical space between student posters.
- Sessions that would attract student interest.
- Everyone to be more involved in contacting traditional small colleges in the region that currently do not attend the conference (i.e. historic mission of CCSC).
- Thanks to Rajan Alex for chairing a successful 2012 conference.

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous vote at 8:20am.

Respectfully submitted, James McGuffee