## **CCSC: CP Steering Committee Meeting Minutes**

Saturday, January 5, 2008 UMKC Kansas City, MO

Present: See Attendees List below.

Meeting led by Judy Mullins Minutes by Cecil Schmidt.

#### 1.) Welcome

Judy Mullins called the meeting to order shortly after 11:05 AM once phone connections with remote participants were established

## 2.) Regional Steering Board Meeting

The Regional Steering board meeting was called to order by Bob Neufeld.

- Minutes from the August 11, 2007 meeting were approved on a motion by Rick Barker and seconded by Scott Sigman.
- Tentative approval of the 2009 budget was received from the group. The final budget will be posted to the listserv.
- Replacement for Bob Neufeld as regional representative
- Nominations for the new regional representative and the new regional registrar will be handled through the listserv.
- Scott Sigman moved and Tim DeClue seconded the motion to have Park University as the host for the 2010 conference. The motion carried.

#### 3.) Committee Business

- Student Contest Awards
  - O Web Contest money will be allotted as follows: \$100 for top and \$50 for the next three for a total of \$250.00 with the assumption that there will be no sponsorship from VML. If VML does sponsor by giving \$500 then the money will be prorated to each of the places.
  - o Programming Contest will be awarded the same as last year. Prize money will allocated as follows: \$300 for 1st, \$250 for 2nd, and \$175 for 3rd place for a total of \$725. Cerner Corporation will be donating \$500 toward the prize money. The awards are to each team not to each member of the team.
- Programming contest Brian Hare provided details about the progress of the
  programming contest. It was agreed that Python will not be supported because the ACM
  programming contest does not support it. The lab configurations will be as close as
  possible to the ACM programming contest.
- Speakers Judy Mullins reported that Bob Martin will be the Keynote Speaker and Kent Pickett from MWSU will be the banquet speaker. The focus of Kent's presentation will be on digital animation and AI at MWSU and the job opportunities in the related areas.
- Pre-conference Workshop Judy Mullins reported that Steve Cooper will be doing a pre-conference workshop on Alice programming.

- Moderators A letter describing the duties of the moderator was presented and discussed.
   No motion was made on this letter, i.e. it is up to site chair on managing the moderators.
   Suggestions were made on targeting other universities who might not necessarily attend the conference in order to gain additional attendee's.
- Student Poster Session Rick Barker reported on the activities regarding the student poster session. The call for posters went out on the general call for papers. Gary Ury noted that it is too early to be concerned about the turnout. He and Rick will work together on this. It was also noted that the poster session is not a contest, and the participants need to be informed of this. The group suggested that a certificate be created noting the participation of the student. Rick Barker will handle the organization of this.

#### **Lunch Break (12:05 – 12:35)**

## 4.) Discussion and selection of papers

- Papers On a motion by Rick Barker and seconded by Ernie, the committee approved acceptance of all papers with an average reviewer rating of 3.5 or higher and reject all papers below 2.75. On a motion by Rick Barker and seconded by Mark Hieber the committee approved to accept all pagers above 3.25. This represents 16 out of 25 papers or 64% acceptance rate. Papers between 2.75 and 3.2 will be invited to the lightning talks.
- Tutorials and Nifty Assignments Rick Barker moved to accept all five tutorials and those nifty assignments with a rating of 3 and above. Bob Neufeld seconded the motion. The motion carried.

## 5.) Creation of Program

Discussion ensued with the arrangement of specific papers, tutorials, nifty assignments, and panels into the time slots.

#### 6.) Final business

The publication of the final program was discussed. The final schedule will be sent out by Judy Mullins.

#### 7.) Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 2:35 PM.

# **Attendees List**

LAST	FIRST	EMAIL	SCHOOL	Present
Barker	Rick	rick.barker@washburn.edu	Washburn Univ.	I
Burris	Eddie	burrise@umkc.edu	Univ. of Missouri Kansas City	I
Cain	James	jcain@sbuniv.edu	Southwest Baptist Univ.	
Cotter	Bob	cotterr@umkc.edu	Univ. of Missouri Kansas City	I
DeClue	Tim	tdeclue@sbuniv.edu	Southwest Baptist University	I
Ferguson	Ernie	FERG@nwmissouri.edu	NW Missouri State Univ.	R
Gibeau	George	gibeaug@otc.edu	Ozark Technical College	R
Hare	Brian	hareb@umkc.edu	Univ. of Missouri Kansas City	I
Heeler	Phil	Pheeler@NWMISSOURI.EDU	NW Missouri State Univ.	R
Hieber	Mark	hieberm@umkc.edu	Univ. of Missouri Kansas City	I
Hsin	Wen	wen.hsin@park.edu	Park University	I
Mertz	Tom	tmertz@ksu.edu	Kansas State Univ. Salina	R
McCleary	Ron	ron.mccleary@avila.edu	Avila University	I
Mullins	Judy	mullinsj@umkc.edu	Univ. of Missouri Kansas City	I
Neufeld	Bob	neufeld@mcpherson.edu	McPherson College	I
Pheatt	Chuck	cpheatt@emporia.edu	Emporia State Univ.	I
Sanders	Dean	sanders@nwmissouri.edu	NW Missouri State Univ.	I
Schmidt	Cecil	cecil.schmidt@washburn.edu	Washburn Univ.	I
Sigman	Scott	ssigman@drury.edu	Drury Univ.	I
Spradling	Carol	c_sprad@nwmissouri.edu	NW Missouri State Univ.	R
Ury	Gary	garyury@nwmissouri.edu	NW Missouri State Univ.	R
Yousef	Mahmoud	yousef@ucmo.edu	University of Central Missouri	

R – Remote, I – In Person